Hunny Pots and Pooh Sticks – Winnie the Pooh Baby Shower Decorations

28 Jul

DSC_4402

So yesterday was my Winnie the Pooh themed Baby Shower for my daughter Tessa! Before the shower, I posted a DIY tutorial blog for the Fabric Pennant Banners my mum and I made for the event. I haven’t gotten a chance to even look at the photos taken of the shower itself, but I did get some pictures prior to the party of a couple of the other do it yourself projects / decorations we dreamed up for the event!

I am proud to say that these are both fairly original ideas. While trolling Pinterest and the web in general for Classic Pooh Baby Shower decorations, I was slightly disappointed at the repetitive and generic décor. I knew our theme was Winnie the Pooh, and the emphasis would be on honey bees and honey, with yellow and tan as the primary colors for decoration. I thought, hmmm, Hunny Pots as a centerpiece. With flowers? And honey bees? Yeah. Why not? After I ran with the idea I saw a couple of terra cotta pots with “HUNNY” scrawled on them being used for favors or centerpieces on the web, but not quite like my dripping honey / fresh flower / swarming bees creation. Yay originality! (I’m mostly thrilled because everything I “dream up” I find has been done to exhaustion on Pinterest already, haha!)

DSC_4396

hunny1

DSC_4426

hunny2

DSC_4429

The “Pooh Sticks” chocolate pretzels were entirely my mother’s idea. She thought, why not coat pretzels in white chocolate with yellow food coloring, and stick them in a honey pot? And it will look like they are honey coated sticks out of the honey pot? My bestie Shauna and my mum made these the night before the party (I was being pregnant and lazy and compiling a “Baby Shower Playlist” and letting them do all the work) and it was really fun to listen to. Apparently yellow food coloring can make chocolate seize up?? Or something? I don’t know. But the pretzels tasted REALLY GOOD! And they look super cute too.

DSC_4435

DSC_4443

Anyway, we had a bunch of other small details and projects we tackled to make the Baby Shower unique and fantastic. My inner Disneyland imagineer comes out when I get to party planning. I’ll share the photos and details of the actual Baby Shower as soon as I get the photos onto my computer. I had an absolute blast and I can’t wait to share!

4 Responses to “Hunny Pots and Pooh Sticks – Winnie the Pooh Baby Shower Decorations”

  1. Suzi July 28, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    ATTENTION! Anyone who’d planning on making white chocolate dipped/covered anything…if you use that white ‘almond bark’ melting stuff (I get it at Walmart), and you think, ‘oh, I can just add some food coloring to it to make it yellow’…think again. In the instructions (who knew?) it says right there, that any…let me stress ANY liquid will make the melty stuff get all hard, crumbly and definitely NOT ‘dip-able’. Seems that just a few drops of LIQUID food coloring counts as liquid. huh. I guess there are colored ‘chips’ that you can use to color this stuff, again, ‘huh’. Live and learn. The best part tho? Even if they look funky, they still taste good.

    • gynjii November 22, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      LOL, yeah I forgot to mention that disclaimer. 😉

  2. Sabrina July 29, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    These are awesome! I adore Winnie the Pooh!

    • gynjii November 22, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks! Obviously, I’m also quite partial myself. 😉

Leave a comment