Centerpieces and Place Cards for Sarge’s Meet and Greet

26 Jul

DSC_4203

So when Jonathan first shipped off for Navy Boot Camp and I first started networking with fellow Navy families on Facebook, I quickly learned about Sarge’s Meet and Greet – a casual gathering that takes place the night before Navy graduation (or PIR, Pass In Review).

Right off the bat I was planning on going, more as an outlet for nervous energy than from any real desire to meet up with a bunch of strangers I’d met off the Internet. That continued to be my mindset until over the weeks, those “strangers” slowly became my kooky, comforting, commiserating and crazy Navy family.

The Facebook group for my husband’s division, Ship 2 Division 938, is made up of an extremely fun and friendly bunch. And they have without question helped maintain my sanity over the past two months. Without them, I would have consumed far more tubs of Starbucks Mocha Chip ice cream whilst sobbing and hugging my cats in my pajamas and watching Gene Kelly tap dance routines in Anchors Aweigh on an infinite loop. (This was the plan, really, till Facebook happened.) I’m convinced that we have in 938 a unique group that is unlike the other divisions groups. This isn’t just blind patriotic team spirit (though maybe just a dash), but a valid observation from my expert trolling reconnaissance missions. If “boring, depressing and overly serious” had a tangible meter, they’d be maxing it out.

So now, I am eager for Sarge’s Meet and Greet, and anxious to meet my boot camp “family” and put faces to the names that I’ve come to eagerly anticipate in my Facebook feed. While all of the divisions were encouraged to make / bring centerpieces to show some division pride, our group went above and beyond in a concerted effort to make the Meet and Greet memorable and to celebrate our new United States Navy Sailors. Below is my centerpiece contribution. It’s all purchased goodies from Hobby Lobby, but I had fun piecing it together.

DSC_4214

center1

DSC_4204

As there are so many of us that want to sit together, I’ve decided that in addition to the centerpieces, I’m going to grab individual seats for our 938 family using place cards. It’s the first time place cards have been used at the casual Meet and Greet (maybe we’re gonna raise the bar and start something for future divisons? Hehe!) but Sarge says we’re welcome to come early and carve out our own little space. When I was getting ready to print out some old fashioned folded card style place cards, I thought, “Why not have some fun with it?” Below are my first few mock ups of the origami boat place cards I’ll be making for all 49 of our 938ers. I got the idea after finding this blog post on Nifty Thrifty Things Blog. How cute will those look floating around the various tables?! I’m fairly certain Sarge’s Meet and Greet will be overrun my 938. It’s gonna be a fun night! Hooya NAVY!

boats3

DSC_4222

boats2

DSC_4263

DSC_4238

boats1

6 Responses to “Centerpieces and Place Cards for Sarge’s Meet and Greet”

  1. Kate July 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    How cute are those center pieces?! The meet and greet sounds like it’s going to be fun! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    • gynjii December 3, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      LOL, it was so dark in the event, they were hardly seen! Oh well! 😉

  2. stirupyourgift July 26, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    You do go all out girl. This is going to be so fun that we may just crawl out of our skin!

    • gynjii December 3, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      LOL, I have a tendency to go all out.. I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse..? lol

  3. Me July 26, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    I love the place cards!!!

Leave a comment