Aladdin Cosplay in Visalia, California

23 Jun

It has somehow become a “thing” that I always try to dress as a Disney princess each Halloween. Since I had been a bossy snooty snoot cosplay-wise in the summer of 2011, when Halloween rolled around that year I let Jonathan have his pick of the Disney realm. I was hoping for something classic and old fashioned – Cinderella? Sleeping Beauty? – but Jonathan picked Aladdin. And despite my decidedly un-Arabian princess-esque features, I had no choice but to in all fairness comply. And our roommate at the time, Sean (who has joined us on tons of other cosplay projects) was only too eager to join in as Jafar.

We made all three of the costumes in this shoot from scratch, and that includes drafting the patterns by hand as well. All of this was freehand, and making it up as we went. (I hope our being amateurs doesn’t show!) The necklace, earrings, and Jafar’s staff Jonathan made out of fimo clay (he is getting so good at that stuff) and I painted them gold. The wig is a regular black wig that I covered in hair extensions to give it the round shape and long tail. This was also my first time trying my hand at my own makeup using a “Disney’s Jasmine Make Up Tutorial” on YouTube – it was also my first time wearing false lashes!

We did the photoshoot at some random business buildings down the road from where we used to live in Visalia, California. It was a weekend so they were closed.. but we still got people pulling over and asking for pictures, or just honking and waving at us like crazy! Being just days away from Halloween we got the celebrity treatment instead of the, “Uhhhh, are you going to a costume party? Is there a Renaissance Faire going on or something?” treatment.

5 Responses to “Aladdin Cosplay in Visalia, California”

  1. vesslisa June 24, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    I love your pictures

    • gynjii June 24, 2013 at 3:59 am #

      Thank you! We love taking them! I miss my husband so much right now, with him gone to Navy boot camp!

  2. storytimewithbuffy June 24, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    You guys look like a lot of fun. 🙂

    • gynjii June 24, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      I think I’m a lot of fun, but then again, I’m easily amused, hehe! ^_^ I’m so boooored without Jonathan here though. *pouts* I miss him so hard.

      • storytimewithbuffy June 24, 2013 at 6:40 am #

        I know what you mean. I hate it when my hubs is away. Even if it’s only for a day. It just doesn’t feel right. Hope you get to see him soon!

Leave a comment