Baby Shower DIY Gift Idea – Onesie Cupcakes

23 Jun

DSC_1294

Yesterday my childhood friend Crystal had a baby shower for her little girl Lily, who is expected just three weeks before Tessa! I’ve known Crystal since we were in Kindergarten. She was my first best friend, my first sleepover buddy, and she has simultaneously been one of the best and worst influences in my adolescent life. (Remember that time in 3rd grade when we got detention because you threw your boot at that boys head because he was picking on me? And then that time in 5th grade when you kneed Eugene in the gonads because he wouldn’t let us play tackle football with the guys? Good times, good times.)

Anyhow, I’m not really overly baby shower savvy. I just don’t have very many friends that are popping babies out. They’ve all already had their children while Jonathan and I were off sowing wild oats sans children (in the form of traveling, cosplaying, comic con hopping and generally enjoying a bachelor / bachelorette lifestyle with one another). Or on the other extreme, my friends are all younger people that aren’t in the business of making babies just yet. Regardless, I have been to a grand total of two baby showers in my lifetime. One I was the photographer for and not a guest. And the other one was last night at Crystal’s. Haha.

So yesterday, I was tickled pink to finally get a chance to try my hand at a baby shower gift idea I had seen on Pinterest – Onesie Cupcakes! The tutorial I followed for this project is off of the Club Chica Circle Blog.

DSC_1279

DSC_1287

This is a cute and thoughtful way to give a sweet and useful gift when money is tight because your husband is in Navy Boot Camp and still hasn’t received his first paycheck (or been allowed to call… or write.. *bitter grumbles*) In fact, I had to bum money off my mom just to be able to get the materials for this gift. Seeing as she graciously obliged me with the funds for the project, it seemed only fair that she help me make them as well. And by “help me make them”, I mean I made crappy cupcakes that she had to take apart and reroll for me, while I critiqued her work and complained about how hard life is.

While rolling the “cupcakes” we kept snickering at ourselves, commenting on how this was going to end up another “Nailed It” Pinterest fail meme. But the finished projects final effect is actually quite charming! The only thing I would do differently (aside from finding a prettier cupcake box other than the plain white one we ended up using) is to use jumbo cupcake holders so the onesies aren’t just balancing precariously and popping out of the paper. Other than that, I was quite pleased with this project! What do you guys think??

DSC_1281

DSC_1288

6 Responses to “Baby Shower DIY Gift Idea – Onesie Cupcakes”

  1. londonlivingmomma June 23, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    They look amazing! Am going to watch the tutorial now. Thanks for the tip – have a baby shower in a couple of weeks time and I may have just found my gift.

    • gynjii June 24, 2013 at 3:58 am #

      Everyone loved them! They got passed around the whole group and everyone went on and on over them… and I wasn’t one of like, a dozen gals who brought onesies and socks! lol… so it’s a creative way to make a simple gift pack a punch!

  2. diynavymomma June 29, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    I’ve seen these on Pinterest and love them! They are so cute!

    • gynjii December 5, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      Yeah, I kind of half-assed this post, and yet it’s been pinned and repinned on Pinterest hundreds of time now… da fuq?! lol.. oh well, I’m not complaining!

  3. Zehra July 24, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    Wow! These are so amazing! Wish I had had a baby shower too …here in India we don’t have baby showers… would have loved to have a gift like that. Oh, and thanks for the ‘like’ on my blog!

    • gynjii December 5, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

      Oh man, I’ve always wanted to visit India!! We should totally be penpals. 😉

Leave a comment