Tank Girl Cosplay at Tankland in El Monte, California

8 Jun

My brother was obsessed with this movie when it first came out, and it kind of scared the crap out of me. Then my sister became obsessed randomly. Then she shaved her head. I knew that Tank Girl cosplay was sure to ensue.

Like I said, I’m not too into the Tank Girl cult culture, and the whole turning-people-into-water thing still gives me the creeps, but with Jonathan and I in our growing cosplay craze (this was back in 2010), I thought it would be fun to do Jet Girl and Richard and give my sister a full cast for her cosplay. My next step was to find us a tank we could use.

But get this.. I found THE tank. The actual Tank Girl tank, used in the motion picture. I basically called around the California area and looked for tanks that we wouldn’t get arrested for playing on, and found the wonderful grown up playground that is Tankland in El Monte. When I told the guy what we were doing, not only was he acquainted with cosplay, but he HAS the tank, tons of props from the movie, and he even helped design the set and tank decorations!

Long story short, we had an awesome day of movie prop geekiness, and photoshooting with the real deal.

2 Responses to “Tank Girl Cosplay at Tankland in El Monte, California”

  1. Eva Halloween June 10, 2013 at 5:40 am #

    Oh, this is fabulous. 🙂

    • gynjii June 10, 2013 at 5:41 am #

      Thank you! We had so much fun with this shoot!

Leave a comment