Our Maternity Photos in the Sequoia National Forest

18 May

DSC_5194

Four years ago, on Fathers Day weekend, I went on a three day backpacking trip on the High Sierra Trail in the Sequoia National Forest, California with my dad, my sister and a guy that I’d met in Southern California and was quite smitten with. At that point we’d only gone on one sushi / coffee date, so when I invited him to go trudging in the middle of nowhere and spend a weekend in the wilderness with a girl he barely knew and her family he’d never met, I really didn’t expect him to say yes.

But he did. And after miles of climbing through meadows, traversing streams, skirting cliffs, and stargazing under the giant redwoods, we were inseparable. We generally calculate the date of our “dating” relationship from this time.

IMGP6629

IMGP6603

The Sequoias – from the foothills at Three Rivers, to the redwoods up by Lodgepole – hold a very special place in our hearts. We’ve gone there for weekend getaways, for countless cosplays and odd photoshoots, and we even considered it for a wedding location. So it just seemed right to do our maternity photoshoot in the giant outdoor cathedral of the redwoods.

Yesterday we drove down with our photography friend Eliza in tow. I’m only 22 weeks along, (I pushed out my tummy as much as possible for the pictures, lol), but in two weeks Jonathan will be in Navy boot camp in Illinois and we don’t know if we’ll have a chance to take photos afterwards while he’s in A School… wherever that may be. That, and I thought having his long hair intact in some maternity photos would be something Tessa would love to see one of these days when she’s only ever known daddy with short hair.

DSC_4692

1

DSC_4719

2

DSC_4803

3

DSC_4921

As I said, our good friend Eliza took these photos for us. She has such a great eye, and it’s nice to hand her the cameras and just relax and look pretty. I tend to get rather awkward when I’m not BEHIND the camera. Which is odd, I know, with all the cosplay modeling I like to do… but it’s different in costume. I can strike a pose as someone else. When it’s just ME? I don’t know how to act or what to do. Cosplay a pregnant lady in the woods? So Eliza did an amaz-za-zing job in making me look not awkward, and capturing Jonathan and I with our precious little baby bump.

954836_4626746997266_1347197830_n

The beautiful Miss Eliza, a veritable Rambo of camera-hood – she’s packing with cameras, and she’s NOT AFRAID TO USE THEM!!!

Anyway, I’m in love with these photos. I never dreamed, while stargazing in the moss covered meadows of the High Sierra, that the guy I thought was so dreamy and perfect and wonderful would be walking those same meadows with me years later with a precious little girl who means the world to us, even though we’ve never met her. We’re still marveling over meeting each other, our brains still do not know how to process having a daughter. Our daughter! OH MY GOD. She’s going to be so beautiful. What did I ever do to be so lucky????

4

DSC_4760

DSC_4772

DSC_5006

DSC_4831

DSC_5016

DSC_5217

DSC_5275

10 Responses to “Our Maternity Photos in the Sequoia National Forest”

  1. Suzi May 18, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    I remember seeing that dress when we were looking for the Brides Maids dresses, and thinking it would look so good on you. You have always been a forest nymph type of girl! I think it is amazing and wonderful that the ‘guy who looks like a sexy vampire’ who you’d only seen once in passing, and once during a line party for a midnight release of what? A video game? Fitting! I very much remember that hike, not that I went on it (right!), but how it was indeed the beginning of an insuperable time for you two. It’s almost as if you guys were banking ‘away time’ over the course of the next few months, in prep for the Navy. But, God will be the Rock you two lean on to get you thru…and Tessa, the gift that God gave you two.

    • gynjii May 19, 2013 at 1:01 am #

      Yeah! I liked this dress for awhile now.. didn’t know when I was window shopping for wedding dresses and honeymoon dresses that I’d be picking it out for a MATERNITY SHOOT! Life is crazy…..

  2. travelingaround50 May 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    So really, really beautiful! And fantastic memories later 🙂 A surge of happiness overflows me. Soooo nice!

  3. Dreams May 27, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    These photos are amaze!!

    • gynjii May 27, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

      Thank you! I rather like them myself! ^_^

  4. KJ @ alwaystravelicious.com June 13, 2013 at 4:14 am #

    Love these photos. The dresses and suit are earthed tone too to match with the beautiful forest !

    • gynjii November 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      Yes, I fell in love with this dress before our wedding! When I was looking for a “maternity photos dress”, and I saw this still for sell, I knew I needed to grab it!

  5. starbucks coffee calories August 3, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this site is really good.

Leave a comment