30 Skills I Would Like To Teach My Daughter

3 Nov

30SKILLS

I plan on homeschooling my baby girl, and part of that, of course, includes teaching her the basic ABC’s and 123’s. But it also goes waaaaay beyond book learning. Homeschooling will also be a home ministry – leading our baby girl to Jesus and equipping her to lead a Godly life. I want her to grow up learning to serve in her community and be a positive difference in this world. I want to do my part to shape her into the woman that she was created to be.

I know she is but a wee thing now, but before we know it it’s going to be time to outline daily curriculum, think about homeschool goals and mission statements, put together lesson plans and so on and so forth. Before I have to get super serious about the Freeman Family Homeschool’s day to day syllabus, I’ve compiled a list of unconventional  old fashioned “finishing school” type skills and talents that I’d like my baby girl to learn as part of her home education.

Some are things she will learn over the course of her upbringing. Some are common sense and almost don’t bear listing. And still some are obscure things that I’d like to make room for and include in her school curriculum at some point in her life. All are things that I think will positively impact her life, and help to make her a well-rounded, graceful, cultured, creative little creature.

Without further ado, here is my list of things I would like to teach my daughter, in no particular order:

1. How to play at least one musical instrument and read music.

2. How to work fluently in at least one art medium (photography, sketching, painting, pottery, whatever.)

3. To keep a regular journal and record her thoughts, dreams, imaginings and favorite quotes.

4. Learn the language of flowers and colors.

5. How to properly set formal dinner table.

6. To memorize Scriptures, poems, and inspirational quotes.

7. How to cook and bake basic meals and the science behind ingredient mixtures and flavor interplay.

8. How to do laundry and clean the house – from fixing carpet stains to cleaning bathtub rings.

9. To regularly moisturize and take care of her body, inside and out.

10. To always give back to the community by always being involved in volunteer work.

11. How to use a sewing machine and how to sew by hand.

12. To wash her hands often and practice good hygiene.

13. How to write a thank you note.

14. How to style her hair and how to use / apply make-up.

15. How to camp and backpack, start a campfire, along with other basic wilderness survival skills.

16. How to grow and tend a garden.

17. Phone etiquette and basic conversational skills.

18. How to read a map.

19. Learn the properties of basic essential oils.

20. How to handle, shoot and clean a gun.

21. Have an elementary knowledge of at least one classic dance form.

22. How to use basic first aid, CPR and tend wounds.

23. How to speak another language.

24. How to break down the etymology of a word.

25. How to change the oil, spark plugs, and basic automotive upkeep skills.

26. How to navigate the Dewy Decimal System.

27. How to identify birds by its features and calls.

28. How to identify plants in nature.

29. How to play chess and utilize basic strategies and defenses in a game.

30. How to identify constellations in the night sky.

What skills would YOU like to impart to your children as part of a homeschool curriculum? ^_^

5 Responses to “30 Skills I Would Like To Teach My Daughter”

  1. Adoption Love November 3, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    I would add Church history and good listening skills. Love your list but I specifically like 13, 16, and 20. 🙂

  2. sabepa November 3, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    This is a great post that makes me think about the “big picture” in homeschooling. When my husband and I did our “five year plan” for our daughter this past month, my biggest goal was that we give her enough tools that she feels confident she can take whatever steps necessary to reach her goals. So I guess I want to teach her how to set goals and organize her thoughts enough to reach them.

  3. pennypinchingpeach November 3, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Wow! That is quite an extensive list! I haven’t made a “list”, but I do like alot of the items on yours. I want to teach my children to treat others with kindness and to have respect for themselves and others. A big thing for us is just that they learn to be contributors rather than freeloaders. Too many able bodied teenagers now would watch their much smaller, overworked mothers carry a bunch of heavy things rather than even think to lift a finger to help…and I really don’t want my kids to be like that.

  4. thecreativecortex November 3, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    You’ve got some really useful things there. I wish schools would teach basic life skills such as maintaining/fixing a car, housework, nutrition and finance management. So many young people leave school not knowing how to look after themselves in the ‘real world’. Sounds like your daughter will definitely know how to do that!

  5. hairballexpress November 4, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Greetings!

    I’m just letting you know that I have nominated you for the Most Influential Blogger Award! To find out more about the award, visit this link!

    http://thesaltedbanana.com/2013/11/03/most-influential-blogger-award/

    Congratulations!!

    Shrimp

Leave a comment