The End Is Near – Preparing for Navy Boot Camp Graduation

16 Jul

Another guest post I’ve written for Buoyed Up blog. If you are in the habit of hearing me whine about my thoughts / concerns over coffee, then you have heard all this before. But go read it anyway, and make me feel special. 😉

Buoyed Up

While the days seem to have been crawling along at a snails pace, I find myself looking at the calendar and thinking, “How is it July 16th already!?” And then I think of plans that need to be finalized and things that need to happen between now and leaving for Great Lakes and I think, “I don’t know if I have enough time to do it all! Where did the days go?!” I guess time really is relative, in one breath I’m cursing the clock for moving so slowly, and in the next I’m wondering where all the days went!

To say that I am excited for graduation is an understatement. I think of our reunion in my minds eye and I tear up. I’ve been periodically sitting in on the live streaming Navy Boot Camp graduations from the RTC website, and when I see the Navy drum line file out…

View original post 920 more words

4 Responses to “The End Is Near – Preparing for Navy Boot Camp Graduation”

  1. katehuff0809 July 16, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

    I’ve seen where you talk about networking with other wives and loved ones who are in your husband’s division. How did you locate them? We haven’t seen anything like that for my family and friends that have gone recently and with my husband going to bootcamp soon I would love to build a support system.

    • gynjii July 17, 2013 at 12:05 am #

      There is an official Navy Boot Camp RTC Facebook group here: https://www.facebook.com/NavyRecruitTrainingCommand and if you comment that you are looking for your loved ones PIR Group page, they should point you in the right direction! Every graduation has it’s own private page, to network with other families, and occasionally the PIR groups will split off into groups of individual divisions. For instance, I am part of the PIR group for 8/2/13 but I’m also part of the Division 938 group that is ONLY for people with loved ones in my hubbys group. ^_^ Get plugged in for sure! It helps the time go by!

      • katehuff0809 July 17, 2013 at 12:17 am #

        Thanks so much! I am already stressing! Our daughter will be 2 when my hubby leaves so I know it is going to be hard!

      • gynjii July 17, 2013 at 12:19 am #

        Oh man, I can only imagine! I am stressing and my baby is still in my belly!

Leave a Reply

