Lilly + Oscar Wedding in Visalia, California

31 May

 

This is the very first wedding I shot when Jonathan and I decided to get into the wedding photography business. I was only there for a couple of hours to grab the ceremony and reception photos at Mooney Grove Park in Visalia, California, but it was enough to get my portfolio started and get the ball rolling to book more gigs! I was so nervous that the bride and groom would not like my shots. I’d never really officially “sold” my work before so I was still dealing with self-esteem and confidence issues. I know that I like my photography and would happily be my own wedding photographer, but would other people like my work for their wedding? Enough to PAY me?

When I dropped off the DVD of images for Lilly at a local Starbucks, we spent an hour talking, and she surprised me with how thrilled she was with the amount and quality of the images. Her enthusiasm – and the reactions from her family and friends viewing the images on Facebook – was the confidence boost that I needed to promote myself with confidence.

Looking back on these images I can see how much I’ve grown as a photographer. In addition to better equipment and more experience in navigating weddings to maximize coverage, I have grown in skill as well – in how I capture light, compose my shots and photoshop in post processing. That’s kind of why I’d like to keep posting my previous weddings and cosplay shoots – so I have them all in one place to review my photographic journey!

2 Responses to “Lilly + Oscar Wedding in Visalia, California”

  1. Lilly Gutierrez May 31, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    I was very fortunate to have you as our photographer and very honored. You made a hectic stressful day a whole lot easier. We will never be able to thank you enough for capturing this day for us in such a beautiful way! These pictures are priceless to us, thank you again gingi!

    • gynjii June 2, 2013 at 12:02 am #

      Awwww, it’s so great to hear from you Lilly!! I am glad that you loved the photos.. and thank YOU for taking a chance on me and letting me get my foot in the wedding photography door! Your day was gorgeous and I was so honored to be a part of it! ^_^

Leave a Reply

